I Am a Recovering Addict

Is CBD off-limits?

Melissa Steussy
2 min readJan 9, 2023

--

Photo by Elsa Olofsson on Unsplash

There are so many new drinks and tasty items on the market lately.

I have been in recovery from drugs and alcohol for a long time and my choices have always been so minimal, but now I have noticed how many non-alcoholic drinks are on the market. In addition to marijuana becoming legal in many states, there are smoke and CBD shops on every corner.

I was recently in Florida where they have KAVA lounges. This was intriguing to me.

Kava is a plant, but so is cocaine, right?

I have to be careful but I remembered I used to take a supplement called KAVA-KAVA for anxiety and it seemed to calm me. I popped into one of these “lounges” where multiple people were drinking out of coconut shells. I was intrigued.

I looked at the menu and noticed they had drinks made from Kava, but in addition, they also had drinks made from Kratom and CBD. I had never heard of Kratom and as a sober person didn’t feel comfortable trying it.

I ordered a fruity Kava drink on tap and had I guess I could say a euphoric feeling after drinking it. It was 10 dollars for a 16-ounce drink, so not cheap.

As someone in recovery, I used to get upset when I would see all of these up-and-coming CBD shops and felt hatred for drugs and…

--

--

Melissa Steussy

26 years sober, health nut, supplement junkie, and all-around fantastic gal. Wrote a book called, Let Your Privates Breathe-Breaking the Cycle of Addiction....