I Stopped Celebrating Christmas

and here's what happened

Melissa Steussy
4 min readDec 17, 2022

--

Photo by Tim Gouw on Unsplash

My stress decreased

I felt more joy and less pressure this time of year

I could slow down and relax

I was in less of a frenzy

I was worried less about finances and finding that “perfect” gift

I wasn’t stressed about family interactions and awkward gift exchanges

I didn’t need to “plan a meal” and get overly focused on what we would eat

I could still have a tree and look at the lights.

I could still listen to the music if I chose to but there is no pressure to “get into the spirit of Christmas.”

I could buy things for my family and friends if I wanted to throughout the year or when I felt the desire to show my appreciation for them, but it didn’t feel contrived.

I no longer had to wonder what a teenager might like or buy things for people that have way more money than I do.

I no longer have to feel immense grief around others’ perfect Christmas cards and family photos where they are chopping down the perfect tree or having the ideal family dressed in the same jammies.

I haven’t found myself in a harried line at TJ Maxx, or Target trying to get the…

--

--

Melissa Steussy

26 years sober, health nut, supplement junkie, and all-around fantastic gal. Wrote a book called, Let Your Privates Breathe-Breaking the Cycle of Addiction....